FPA touch! - Fiber Potential Analyzer

Accurate and easy determination of the zeta potential of fiber suspensions

The new FPA touch! Fiber Potential Analyzer.

Advantages:

  • Smaller and significantly lighter than comparable devices
    → Comfortable carriage in
  • Latest state-of-the-art capacitive Touch Screen with display of results and curves
  • External keyboard connectable (USB or wireless)
  • Internal memory for measurement data
  • Bluetooth interface for measurement with the PC
  • For titration of liquids, titrator can be connected.
  • Ready to use without assembly of further components
  • Easy handling, clear and simple-to-understand measuring procedures
  • Compact and robust construction

Features:

The new FPA touch! Fiber Potential Analyzer combines proven methods of Zeta Potential measurement with the known great simplicity of handling and functioning of the previous FPA versions, but enhanced with new features and an immense reduction in weight and size.

Surface charges of fibers, fillers, particles or colloidally dissolved substances in stock suspension are defined by the Zeta Potential on their surfaces. The charge of the stock suspension can be split into the colloidal and particle charge, measured with the CAS touch! Charge Analyzing System, while the fiber and filler charge is measured with the FPA touch! Fiber Potential Analyzer. All both charge levels together define the overall Zeta Potential of fiber suspensions.

The knowledge of the fiber charges in the pulp is the key for optimized dosage of chemical aids, which should be adsorbed onto the surface of the fiber. The mostly negatively (anionic) charged fiber is adsorbing the positive (cationic) charged additives in the papermaking process. The optimized dosage of such aids always depends on the Zeta Potential within the pulp.

The FPA touch! is designed to determine the Zeta Potential of fibers according to the Helmholtz-Smoluchowski equation by simultaneously measuring conductivity, pressure and the streaming current potential. The measuring principle is based on the streaming current potential measuring method in a fiber plug. That fiber plug is automatically building up on a screen electrode in the measuring cell of the FPA by a vacuum. By periodically changing the vacuum during the measurement the charge clouds absorbed on the fibers are moving with the liquid stream and generating the streaming current potential measured by the screen and ring electrode.

The knowledge of the fiber charge enables a correct and effective dosage of the charged chemical additives. The fiber adsorption of cationic starch, wet strength resin, and many other chemical aids can be easily measured with original samples on-site to optimize the dosage of chemicals in the wet end of the paper manufacturing process.

NEW:

  • Lighter, Smaller: Carry-on luggage size
  • 5“ Touch Screen Display for data display
  • External keyboard and USB flash drive can be connected
  • For titration of liquids, titrator can be connected.
  • Bluetooth connection to PC for measurement possible
  • No external hoses or tubes

Main features:

  • Filtrate removal for CAS touch! measurements
  • Simple handling, robust design, high accuracy and reproducibility
  • Fully automatic measuring and cleaning procedure (menu-controlled), automatic pressure control and removal of the fiber plug after the measurement
  • pH measurement optional
  • Integrated vacuum pump is water protected: pump cannot be destroyed by filtrate overflow (No big and noisy external vacuum pump)
  • No external connection cable for electrodes - thereby prevention of handling errors
  • Display of measuring results on touch screen or via high-performance PC Software with display of trends
  • Storage of data on internal data memory of the device, USB flash drive or on the PC when connecting PC software
  • All components at latest technological standard
Attachments:
Download this file (AFG_FPA touch_leaflet_en.pdf)FPA touch! Leaflet[English]313 kB

Tags: CAS FPA particle charge Zeta Potential

FPA touch! - Fiber Potential Analyzer

Der neue FPA touch! Fiber Potential Analyzer.

Genaue und einfache Bestimmung des Zetapotentials von Fasersuspensionen

Vorteile:

  • Kleiner und erheblich leichter als vergleichbare Geräte
    → Komfortabler Transport
  • Kapazitiver Touchscreen auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik mit Anzeige der Resultate und Kurven
  • Externe Tastatur anschließbar (USB oder schnurlos)
  • Interner Speicher für Messdaten
  • Bluetooth-Schnittstelle zur Messung mit PC
  • Zur Titrierung von Flüssigkeiten kann ein Titrator angeschlossen werden.
  • Betriebsfertig ohne Montage weiterer Komponenten
  • Einfache Handhabung, klare und einfach zu verstehende Messverfahren
  • Kompakte und robuste Bauform
FPA touch!

Features:

Das neue FPA touch! Faserladungsmessgerät kombiniert bewährte Methoden der Zetapotentialmessung mit der bekannten Einfachheit der Handhabung und Funktionsweise der vorangegangenen FPA-Versionen, erweitert um neue Features und verbunden mit einer immensen Reduktion von Gewicht und Größe.

Die Oberflächenladungen von Fasern, Füllstoffen, Partikeln und kolloidal gelösten Stoffen in Suspensionen werden durch das Zetapotential ihrer Oberflächen definiert. Die Aufteilung der Ladungen in Stoff-Suspensionen erfolgt in kolloidal gelöste und Partikel-Ladungen, die mit dem CAS touch! Charge Analyzing System erfasst werden, und in Ladungen auf Fasern und Füllstoffen, die mit dem FPA touch! Fiber Potential Analyzer gemessen werden. Diese beiden Ladungsniveaus definieren gemeinsam das gesamte Zetapotential von Stoffsuspensionen.

Das Wissen um die Faserladungen bildet den Schlüssel für die optimale Zugabe von chemischen Hilfsstoffen, die an den Fasern angelagert werden sollen. Die meist negativ (anionisch) geladenen Fasern adsorbieren die positiven (kationisch) geladenen Additive beim Papierherstellungsprozess. Die optimale Dosierung der chemischen Hilfsmittel hängt immer vom Zetapotential der Stoffsuspension ab.

Das FPA touch! bestimmt das Zetapotential von Fasern in Übereinstimmung mit der Helmholtz-Smoluchowski-Gleichung über die gleichzeitige Messung der Leitfähigkeit, des Druckes und des Strömungspotentials. Das Messprinzip beruht auf der Strömungspotential-Messmethode in einem Faserpfropfen. Dieser Faserpfropfen bildet sich automatisch mittels eines Vakuums an der Siebelektrode der Messzelle des FPA. Durch regelmäßige Veränderungen des Vakuums im Verlauf der Messung bewegt sich die an den Fasern absorbierte Ladungswolke mit dem Flüssigkeitsstrom. Das dadurch erzeugte Strömungspotential wird über die Sieb- und Ringelektrode gemessen.

Das Wissen über die Höhe der Faserladung ermöglicht eine exakte und effektive Dosierung der chemischen Additive. Die Adsorption von Stärke auf Faser, die Effektivität von Nassfestmitteln und das Adsorptionsverhalten vieler anderer chemischen Hilfsstoffe kann einfach in der Originalprobe vor Ort gemessen werden. Mit den Messergebnissen kann die Zugabe von Chemikalien im Nass-Bereich des Papierherstellungsprozesses optimiert werden.

NEU:

  • Leichter, kleiner: Handgepäckgröße
  • 5“ Touchscreen zur Darstellung der Daten
  • Externe Tastatur und USB-Stick anschließbar
  • Zur Titrierung von Flüssigkeiten Anschluss eines Titrators möglich
  • Bluetooth-Verbindung zum PC für Messungen möglich
  • Keine externen Schläuche

Hauptmerkmale:

  • Filtratentnahme für CAS touch! Messungen
  • Einfache Bedienung, robustes Design, hohe Messgenauigkeit und Reproduzierbarkeit
  • Vollautomatischer Messvorgang und Reinigung des Systems (menügeführt), automatische Druckkontrolle und Pfropfenauswurf nach der Messung
  • Optionale pH-Wert-Messung
  • Wassergeschützte, integrierte Vakuumpumpe: Keine Zerstörung der Pumpe durch Eindringen von Filtrat (Keine voluminöse und laute Vakuumpumpe)
  • Keine externen Verbindungskabel für die Elektroden - dadurch keine Bedienungsfehler
  • Darstellung der Messergebnisse über Touchscreen oder über leistungsfähige PC-Software mit Anzeige der Trends
  • Datenspeicherung intern im Gerät, auf USB-Stick oder auf dem PC bei Verbindung mit der PC-Software
  • Alle Komponenten entsprechen den neuesten technologischen Standards.
Anhänge:
Diese Datei herunterladen (AFG_FPA touch! leaflet_de.pdf)FPA touch! Prospekt[deutsch]316 KB

Tags: CAS FPA Partikelladung Oberflächenladung von Fasern Zeta Potential

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information